Stop the Download Tax on Facebook
Download Fairness Coalition



Growing Congressional Support for Digital Goods and Services Tax Fairness Act

WASHINGTON— The Download Fairness Coalition (DFC) today applauds nine legislators for voicing their support for the Digital Goods and Services Tax Fairness Act, a bipartisan measure introduced in by Representatives Lamar Smith (R-Texas) and Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.) with corresponding legislation introduced in the Senate by Sens. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) and John Thune (R-S.D.).

U.S. Reps. Andre Carson (D-Ind.), Donna M. Christensen (D-U.S. Virgin Islands), Yvette D. Clarke (D-N.Y.), Peter A. DeFazio (D-Ore.), Brett Guthrie (R-Ky.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), William L. Owens (D-N.Y.), Aaron Schock (R-Ill.), and Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.) join a bipartisan group of more than 40 fellow elected officials as co-sponsors of H.R. 1860 and S. 971.

“The surge of bipartisan support for the Digital Goods and Services Tax Fairness Act confirms the importance of this legislation for consumers, lawmakers, and the digital commerce industry,” said Sam Whitehorn, executive director of the Download Fairness Coalition.  “Working together, Congress has the power to resolve the uncertainty of duplicative taxation and protect both consumers and the competitiveness of the United States in the global market.

Currently, there is no national framework that clearly identifies which state has the right to tax digital goods or prevent multiple jurisdictions from taxing the same transaction. The Digital Goods and Services Tax Fairness Act would create federal guidelines that prohibit multiple and discriminatory taxes on the sale or use of digital goods or services delivered or transferred electronically to a customer.


Leave A Reply